Jewellery Plinth Making

For my exhibition I wanted to make jewellery plinths that would be placed in between the pebbles in my display. I wanted to use a natural material for my display so I chose wood. I wanted my plinths to be just a little bit bigger than the jewellery themselves and I also wanted a staggered effect to reveal all the pieces of jewellery when looking at my display. I started off by cutting some wood to size and I added a small piece of wood to hold the jewellery in place.

18425810_10208731566195798_454084940_n

The next step was to paint the plinths, I made around 25 of different sizes and heights. I thought about keeping the wood as it was, without paint, but I thought it may distract the attention away from the jewellery. So I did finally decide to paint them white to stay in theme with the exhibition. I felt that by giving the jewellery each an individual plinth it would highlight the jewellery’s worth and it would blend in with the show really well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

