Commemorative Mug Find

During one of my river finds I discovered and kept 1/3 of a mug that have the date June 2nd 1953, still intact on the side it also had a british flag and flower buds. The remnants of the mug looked interesting enough but during a visit to a friends house I discovered she owned a duplicate of the mug. I was so excited over this mug and she had no idea why, I must have looked mad out of context. After photographing the mug and comparing them at home, I knew they were the same. The mug was a commemorative object which celebrated the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II. My mug has faded quite a lot but it was so great seeing the intact version and what was even more great was finally knowing what history/story hid behind the broken mug.

17800269_2261224640769715_6293997127512187672_n

Leave a Reply

