Kintsugi Idea.

After having a talk with Ingrid I explained that I was having trouble finding a new and exciting way to combine the polished glass together. We spoke about who I looked at for the summer project and it led me back to the artist Tomomi Kamoshita’s work A Gift From the Waves. Kamoshita uses an old traditional Japanese method for repairing broken ceramics with a special lacquer mixed with gold, silver, or platinum. The philosophy behind the technique is to recognize the history of the object and to visibly incorporate the repair into the new piece instead of disguising it. We spoke about how I could incorporate this method in my practice and instead of using ceramics use glass and join them together with pewter. With the fresh idea in mind I spoke to Martyn who suggested I undertake some experiments.Β larger

Using foundry sand I placed my glass fragments in so they sat just under the sand with a leveled surface. The next step was to find a surface to press the pewter so the force of the pewter when pressed would spread around the fragments. The only thing I could do was to experiment and further develop my idea.

My first few experiments were unsuccessful due to the pewter pouring over the glass and not just flowing around the glass fragments. I think this was due to having too much pewter and not being quick enough whilst pouring and pressing. I also believe that the pot that I was using needed to be altered in order to receive a better clearness for the material. Martyn suggested I cut a template out of wood different thicknesses to pour the pewter into. So for my next experiment I will need to do that.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

