Powder Metal Resin Research

After researching in to materials and processes I came across Powder metal and the process cold-casting. Cold-Casting” is a term used to describe the process of mixing metal powder with a resin and applying the mixture into a mould. The finished casting gives the appearance and weight of solid metal. The metal cold-cast process is faster and much less expensive when compared with foundry casting of molten metal. This would be beneficial in my making because I want the aesthetic quality of metal without the weight because the materials I am using are already quite heavy. If I continue to make jewellery, I need to make sure that it is light and comfortable enough to sit on the human form. By using a powder metal resin it would also be beneficial in the form because I can create smooth and curvaceous edges without the difficult process I would encounter if I worked with actual metal.

 

Leave a Reply

