Kintsugi

For my project I needed to research Kintsugi as I felt is was appropriate to my work I am going to be looking at. Kintsugi simply means Golden Joinery. Kintsugi is a Japanese tradition in art where they fix together old broken ceramic pieces, then decorating and highlighting the cracks with lacquer and gold. I am interested in this process and would love to try it out. This is the process I would like to do with my objects, but what differs with me is that I have found these broken objects and have taken them and not only highlighting the broken edge but transforming them into something usable again. I find it similar because I also want to also find the history behind the piece.  Kintsugi treats the breakage and repair as part of the history of an object, rather than something to disguise.

To find the beauty in broken or old things (spiritualism) .

 

Leave a Reply

