After ‘Petcha Kutcha’ Thoughts and Progress.

After presenting my Petcha Kutcha to the class I had feedback which I felt I need to have a think about, my presentation was torn between my love for expressive collage with found materials alongside my love for wearable objects with reclaimed materials and also found objects.

I need to think more about what objects I can make or present for my final show, but before hand I need to source objects. I think I should start to find 4-5 places where I can collect/acquire reclaimed objects or pick up objects left as rubbish or trash?

I believe I should start at the beach because a lot of works I have sourced have referenced the beach like Arthur Giardelli ‘The sea’s edge’, Jackson Pollock’s ‘Full Fathom Five’, Tomomi Kamoshita’s ‘A Gift from the Waves’ and Alejandro Duran’s ‘The Spill’.

I visited Aberthaw beach on friday and picked up objects along the pebble shore. I walked in a reasonably straight line and picked up objects that took my interest. I documented my journey.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The objects I found included, gloves, driftwood, bottle caps, sunglasses frame and a wheel. A lot of objects I found were just trash so I recycled a lot of bottles and cans. I loved the drift wood and seemed to pick up a lot of it. By looking at my objects I am still unsure of what I am going to be making as of yet, I am still liking the idea of having something wearable which is made from recycled trash.

The next place I visited was down the local river near me. I followed the river until I found a pebbled bay, and upon looking closer at the pebbles I found some glass and ceramic fragments. I started to collect a range of glass and any ceramic pieces I found. The next step is to clean and polish up the pieces in hope for them to be recycled in my work. I found some really interesting glass with letters on the surface maybe from drinking bottles and also some really lovely patterned ceramic fragments possibly from plates and cups.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

