Light Project Recap

The truth is I haven’t done any work on this project in a few months so I came back to the project with fresh eyes and it has really helped. My initial idea was to create a paper light which was delicate and could be recycled, using nature as my inspiration. I wanted it to have 2 functions a business mode and a more relaxed fun mode.

When I left the project I was struggling with materials, I wanted something translucent for the light to shine through but also it had to be covered in a pattern to not reveal the inside. Here was a drawing of my initial idea.

12986331_10205897470065166_83375051_o.jpg

I have stayed to the same semi cylinder shape, I have started to experiment with the material. I have thought about porcelain, but it isn’t as recyclable as when I wanted,so  I left that. Next I looked at acrylic plastic maybe sandblasted and vacuum formed into the cylinder shape but it isn’t easy to recycle so I crossed that off the list. I then went back to paper and started to print the pattern I wanted to use on different materials. Here are some of the results.

13059769_10205897580267921_1507592147_n

Here is the Pattern I wanted to use, this piece was from my field project where we had to respond to nature through multiple mediums, here is a photograph negative layered and repeated. 

13046133_10205897582427975_901386304_n

Here is the pattern printed onto clear plastic, the result was pretty bad. The ink just rested onto the film so it wouldn’t dry. 

13054696_10205897580227920_1350818404_o

Here is the pattern printed onto paper which I found in the kitchen, I really like this result as it was perfect for the light. It was luminous but not clear and the pattern had a lovely effect on the paper. 

For my light I will be using greaseproof paper printed with my design using the printer. I will need to make a frame next and find a suitable light source and figure how I can incorporate my animal inside.

Leave a Reply

