Introduction into level 5 of the Maker Course

We were given our briefs for subject today and they both sound very exciting, they are very open projects so it will be lovely to explore ideas and designs of what I want to do.

The first project was the medal project, BAMS, We each have to design a medal and craft it out of preferably bronze, pewter or ceramic. The medal doesn’t need to be found on the chests of heroes or athletes but they are to celebrate the contemporary expression of much older tradition of medals as a work of art.

I have decided on a theme for my medal ideas and I have chosen old sayings and quotes, for example: “bite the bullet”. I use sayings like these everyday but I have never really understood the meanings behind them, so I think sayings like these would be an interesting narrative to portray on a medal.

A few popular old sayings I know are:-

  • Bite the Bullet

My meaning of this would be ‘just do it’ ‘go for it’ the idea of having to do something that doesn’t seem great but just doing it to get it over and done with. The actual meaning is to decide to do something difficult or unpleasant that one has been putting off or hesitating over.

  • Kick the bucket

My meaning of this would be death/ or to die. The actual meaning of this is an English idiom, considered a euphemistic, informal, or slang term meaning ‘to die’.

  • Make hay when the sunshines

My meaning of this would be to be pleasant and to do something when the situation seems perfect, you should do it. The actual meaning is make the most of one’s opportunities while you have the chance.

  • one mans trash is another man’s treasure

My meaning of this is everyone is different and something you love someone else would hate it. The actual meaning is something that one person considers worthless may be considered valuable by someone else.

  • A diamond in the rough

My meaning of this is having the experience of having to go through all the crap in your life but having those diamond moments at the end of all the hard work. The actual meaning is Someone (or something) that has hidden exceptional characteristics and/or future potential, but currently lacks the final touches that would make them (or it) truly stand out from the crowd.

  • A wolf in sheep’s clothing

My meaning is a predator hidden is a soft shell, looking all shy but having a bitter personality. The actual meaning would be a person or thing that appears friendly or harmless but is really hostile.

  • Mad as a hatter

My meaning has come from Alice in Wonderland and to simply mean you were mad. The actual meaning is a colloquial phrase used in conversation to refer to a crazy person. In 18th and 19th century England, mercury, was used in the production of felt, which was used in the manufacturing of hats common of the time.

  • Look after your pennies and the pounds will look after themselves.

My meaning would be to take care of your money because eventually it should all add up. The actual meaning is that if someone takes care not to waste small amounts of money, they will accumulate capital.

These are just a few of many old fashioned sayings I hope to pick a few and research meanings and start to draw up some ideas.

The other live project I picked was the ‘Delight in light’ in which you must design a light but along the journey you must think of customer needs/The market/Product specifications/purpose/performance/features/reliability/aesthetics/quality/packaging/production and cost.

I am using ‘Tape, Numen’ as inspiration for my idea and would like to create a abstracted form with recycled materials.

Both these briefs are exciting and I can’t wait to start!!

Leave a Reply

