Summer Project 2015

This project is intended to make you go and visit local galleries, design and craft fairs. The first thing I found myself doing was researching the actual meaning of ‘Contemporary Art’. I find this useful as it explains the meaning to be in a way which I understand as sometimes I get confused. I found the perfect meaning online.

Contemporary art: Contemporary art is the art of today, produced by artists who are living in the twenty-first century. Contemporary art provides an opportunity to reflect on contemporary society and the issues relevant to ourselves, and the world around us.

After knowing this I researched and wrote down names of some local galleries which I found to be interesting to look at. Here are the local ones I had listed:

  • Giles Gallery, Pontyclun
  • G39 Gallery, Oxford Street, Cardiff
  • Kingfisher Gallery, Cowbridge
  • Craft in the Bay, Cardiff Bay
  • Cardiff Museum and Gallery, Cardiff
  • Newport Museum and Gallery, Newport
  • Llantrisant Model house and Gallery, Llantrisant

I think these are a good starting point to go to and have a look around for artists and designers which I could relate to my work or whom I find to be an interesting subject to look at.

Leave a Reply

