Study skills 2 Ashley Morgan-Reflection and feedback (evaluation)

Today Ashley Morgan taught us how to show reflection and feedback from our constellations lessons for our blog. I have learnt that reflection is personal to you and to make sure what we write is meaningful and effective.

Reflection

  • What and how you are learning?
  • What went well?
  • What didn’t go well?
  • What have you done to overcome this?
  • Where are you now?
  • What can you improve on?
  • What will you do to get further?
  • How will you get there?
  • Are you nearly there yet?
  • Show academic strengths and weaknesses
  • It’s not necessarily what you like/hate doing
  • Make it a journey.

So after this I noted down a few strengths and weaknesses of my own.

Strengths

  • I enjoy writing, I find it easy to remember more information if I write it down or make lists.
  • I am good at time keeping, I have never missed a deadline.
  • I have good organisational skills, I am very prepared for my lessons.

Weaknesses

  • I find it difficult to remember certain words, I can be very forgetful.
  • I struggle with structure in an essay.
  • I find reading difficult, It takes me a while to get the information in my head.
  • I can get very stressed.

So we work on how we can over come this for example:

Noting down information helps me remember so I could do this more in future. Also I could get assistance in structuring essays on blackboard or reading past essays. I can look on blackboard for advice on how to cope with reading better, and for stress I could take a break and come back to my work with fresh eyes. You can always say how you are doing in this process for instance “it’s difficult but I’m getting there”.

Feedback

  • Was it useful?
  • Was it interesting?
  • Areas of improvement?
  • How was the timing?
  • What was the room like?
  • Do you want more or less of something?
  • Do you want more tutorials or lectures?

Only make feedback when asked or when it’s needed.

Leave a Reply

